writing contest!

Home Forums General Discussion writing contest!

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      jarrod
      Participant

writing contest!

Ben Edwards
        Participant

This one’s right (write) up my alley Al! I hope to earn one of those handles too because I’ll put it in my training rotation in hopes of beating a gym record at the Dino Gym.

I’ve been training my grip for 11 years now. Over the years I’ve “borrowed” more training ideas – many, many more – than I’ve actually come up with on my own. I know the old saying “there’s nothing new under the sun” has a lot of merit when it comes to training. If I “come up” with an exercise or technique, chances are someone else has already done it before me.

There are a few training ideas or methods that I’ve come up with that I haven’t seen elsewhere, or at least hadn’t seen when I came up with it on my own.

I’d like to write about one training idea I came up with about 5 years ago. I shared it with very few guys. Namely law enforcement officers (LEO) and a few amateur MMA guys that I correspond with. For safety reasons the LEOs aren’t going to speak (to anyone outside the LEO community) about the training I helped them with. But it has drastically improved their hand strength. Same for the MMA guys. It’s a specialized form of training that focuses on the thumb, ring, and pinky fingers – and excludes the others.

These guys also did training that helped their other fingers improve in strength. But the ring and pinky are weak spots on most of the population.

-Think about when someone grabs your wrist (in a hostile situation) and you want to break their grip. There are many ways to go about it, but most people are taught to break the grip by forcefully twisting their wrist outwards and upwards – using a curl-type motion – and focusing that escape attempt on the attacker’s thumb.