by Al Myers
The second lifting event on DAY ONE of the IAWA World Championships is the one arm Clean and Jerk. This is one of “the original” all-round lifts, and once was even contested as part of the Olympics Weightlifting. The athlete can choose either arm for this lift, but once the arm “is chosen” it must be used for all the attempts. The IAWA rules are very similar to the USAWA rules for this lift:
B25. ONE HAND CLEAN AND JERK
The rules for the two hands clean and jerk apply except that the lift is done with either the left or right hand only. An optional grip is used, and the bar is raised to the commensurate shoulder as the lifting arm, in a single movement. The bar must not touch any part of the legs or trunk below the line of the nipples. In receiving the bar at the shoulder it should not make contact with or rest, on the opposite shoulder or chest. The centre of the sternum is used as the line of indication. The free hand may be supported on the thigh or knee of either leg, but must not touch the lifting surface, lifting arm or bar during the lift. With a single distinct effort the lifter will jerk the bar to arms length above the head. The signal to replace the bar will be given on completion of the lift, when the lifter is erect and motionless with the feet on a parallel plane to the torso.
Causes for Failure:
1. Touching the lifting surface, bar or lifting arm with the free arm.
2. Touching the bar with the legs or trunk below the line of the nipples.
3. Touching the chest or shoulder with the bar, on the opposite side to the lifting arm.
4. Allowing the bar to rise above the lower level of the ear, when adjusting the grip prior to the jerk.
5. Failure to control the bar and fix it motionless, at completion.
6. All other causes for failure are the same as for the two hands clean and jerk.
The USAWA Rules for this lift are practically the same. However, there is one additional rule stipulation in the USAWA Rules which states, “the nonlifting hand must be clear of the body upon completion of the lift.” This is not stated in these IAWA Rules, so it appears to be technically allowed under the IAWA Rules?? However, I wouldn’t take that chance – so remove the supportive hand upon completion!